Banner by Alice of a book/eReader with an OTW bookmark and a USB plug going into the spine

Transformative Works and Cultures Releases No. 30

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 30.

This huge (12 full-length essays, five Symposium essays, and two book reviews) issue is our general issue, which comes out every September. Why so large? No print component; and TWC does not hold a backlog. Topics include the study of music in fan vids; slash; eighteenth-century prophecy; soap opera fans; Disflix; and fandom in China. We have an essay about Ginny Weasley, a close reading of a 2017 fan fic by chainofclover, and several essays on the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Read More

Banner by Alice of a book/eReader with an OTW bookmark and a USB plug going into the spine

Transformative Works and Cultures Releases No. 29

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 29, titled Fans of Color, Fandoms of Color.

The essays in this issue describe, interpret, and contextualize transformative works and practices by fans of color, about characters of color, or both. Fandoms include Harry Potter, Game of Thrones (via #DemThrones), The Walking Dead, Black Panther, and How to Get Away with Murder.

Other essays discuss K-pop, slash, parody videos, Filipino fans, and martial arts. Read More