Banner by Alice of a book/eReader with an OTW bookmark and a USB plug going into the spine

Transformative Works and Cultures Vol. 26

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 26.

The essays in this March 15, 2018, issue focus on Social TV Fandom and the Media Industries, guest edited by Myles McNutt.

This exciting issue contains essays about Sleepy Hollow, The 100, Wynonna Earp, and Twin Peaks: The Return fans and fan engagement. To discuss the “social” in “social TV,” contributors discuss use of Twitter, #hashtags, and emoticons. Also featured is an interview with Flourish Klink of Chaotic Good Studios.

The next issue of TWC, No. 27, is a guest-edited issue on Tumblr and Fandom. It will appear on June 15, 2018.

We welcome Symposium articles for our 10th anniversary issue, which focuses on the Future of Fandom.

TWC’s current calls for papers include the following issues (more info at Announcements):

  • General Issue with emphasis on The Future of Fandom, September 2018 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Romance/Fans: Sexual Fantasy, Love, and Genre in Fandom, March 2019 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Fans of Color, Fandoms of Color June 2019 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Fan Fiction and Ancient Scribal Cultures, December 2019 (submissions due June 1, 2018)
  • Fan Studies Methodologies, March 2020 (submissions due January 1, 2019)
  • Fandom and Politics, June 2020 (submissions due January 1, 2019)

We accept on a rolling basis submissions for our general issues, which always appear on September 15.

OTW Guest Post: Laura Beveridge & K-K Bracken

From time to time, the OTW will be hosting guest posts on our OTW News accounts. These guests will be providing an outside perspective on the OTW or aspects of fandom where our projects may have a presence. The posts express each author’s personal views and do not necessarily reflect the views of the OTW or constitute OTW policy. We welcome suggestions from fans for future guest posts, which can be left as a comment here or by contacting us directly.

Laura Beveridge is a writer for the Geekiary, and is currently pursuing a Master’s degree in science communication. You can read her multi-fandom fanfiction under the AO3 handle CompletelyDifferent. K-K Bracken is an editor and contributor for The Geekiary and the C.O.O. of Saga Event Planning, an event planning company specializing in single-fandom conventions. Together with Laura, she is writing a YA novel that is inspired in many ways by their mutual love of all things fanworks.

How did you each first get into fandom and fanworks?

LAURA: For me, fandom started with Harry Potter. It was my parents’ bid to try getting me interested in reading and overcome my dyslexia. It paid off, big time. I’m not sure if he actually remembers, but my first interaction with fanfic came from my Dad. He wrote a daughter-insert fic where Ginny Weasley sought my help in saving the kidnapped Harry. Eight-year-old me was over the moon.

I feel like I personally started exploring online collections of fanworks at around age twelve or thirteen.

K-K: HP for me as well! I wrote essays for Mugglenet and organized fake Hogwarts classes for my friends. I was always an avid reader but the interaction and expansion that come with fandom was delightful to get into. I remember being on a mailing list of over 1000 and swapping fic and theories with fans from all over the world. Read More