Ubi Invenimus in Domos Nostras banner below tumbler logo and numerous fandom logos

Transformative Works and Cultures Releases Issue No. 27

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 27, Tumblr and Fandom, guest edited by Lori Morimoto and Louisa Ellen Stein.

The essays in this guest-edited issue focus on Tumblr and include topics such as GIF sets, Supernatural fandom, fandom tags, Ms. Marvel, and Hiddleswift. Each issue includes articles representing theory, fannish meta, and book reviews, such as the following:

(more…)

Banner by Alice of a book/eReader with an OTW bookmark and a USB plug going into the spine

Transformative Works and Cultures Vol. 26

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 26.

The essays in this March 15, 2018, issue focus on Social TV Fandom and the Media Industries, guest edited by Myles McNutt.

This exciting issue contains essays about Sleepy Hollow, The 100, Wynonna Earp, and Twin Peaks: The Return fans and fan engagement. To discuss the “social” in “social TV,” contributors discuss use of Twitter, #hashtags, and emoticons. Also featured is an interview with Flourish Klink of Chaotic Good Studios.

The next issue of TWC, No. 27, is a guest-edited issue on Tumblr and Fandom. It will appear on June 15, 2018.

We welcome Symposium articles for our 10th anniversary issue, which focuses on the Future of Fandom.

TWC’s current calls for papers include the following issues (more info at Announcements):

  • General Issue with emphasis on The Future of Fandom, September 2018 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Romance/Fans: Sexual Fantasy, Love, and Genre in Fandom, March 2019 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Fans of Color, Fandoms of Color June 2019 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Fan Fiction and Ancient Scribal Cultures, December 2019 (submissions due June 1, 2018)
  • Fan Studies Methodologies, March 2020 (submissions due January 1, 2019)
  • Fandom and Politics, June 2020 (submissions due January 1, 2019)

We accept on a rolling basis submissions for our general issues, which always appear on September 15.

Support the OTW by Reading!

Choose Books, Buy Books, Support the OTW

The Organization for Transformative Works is celebrating its 10th anniversary because thousands of fans have supported it through donations over the years. And while direct donations are the most helpful form of support (which can be made at any time of the year) there are other ways to help. You can:

  • check with your workplace to see if they’ll do corporate matching of donations
  • if you use Amazon in the U.S. for purchases, sign up to Amazon Smile and select the OTW as your charity of choice.

(There are even automatic redirect apps you can install on Chrome or Firefox so you won’t have to remember to sign in to Smile).

But probably the most fun way is to purchase one or both books whose royalties support the OTW! Below, three of the OTW’s founding members — Kristina Busse, Karen Hellekson, and Francesca Coppa — from our Transformative Works & Cultures committee discuss the books they edited: The Fanfiction Reader: Folk Tales for the Digital Age and The Fan Fiction Studies Reader.
(more…)