Banner by Alice of a book/eReader with an OTW bookmark and a USB plug going into the spine

Transformative Works and Cultures releases No. 28

Transformative Works and Cultures has released issue number 28, our 10th anniversary issue! The essays in this issue focus on the Future of Fandom. Each issue includes articles representing theory, fannish meta, and book reviews, such as the following:

(more…)

Ubi Invenimus in Domos Nostras banner below tumbler logo and numerous fandom logos

Transformative Works and Cultures Releases Issue No. 27

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 27, Tumblr and Fandom, guest edited by Lori Morimoto and Louisa Ellen Stein.

The essays in this guest-edited issue focus on Tumblr and include topics such as GIF sets, Supernatural fandom, fandom tags, Ms. Marvel, and Hiddleswift. Each issue includes articles representing theory, fannish meta, and book reviews, such as the following:

(more…)

Banner by Alice of a book/eReader with an OTW bookmark and a USB plug going into the spine

Transformative Works and Cultures Vol. 26

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 26.

The essays in this March 15, 2018, issue focus on Social TV Fandom and the Media Industries, guest edited by Myles McNutt.

This exciting issue contains essays about Sleepy Hollow, The 100, Wynonna Earp, and Twin Peaks: The Return fans and fan engagement. To discuss the “social” in “social TV,” contributors discuss use of Twitter, #hashtags, and emoticons. Also featured is an interview with Flourish Klink of Chaotic Good Studios.

The next issue of TWC, No. 27, is a guest-edited issue on Tumblr and Fandom. It will appear on June 15, 2018.

We welcome Symposium articles for our 10th anniversary issue, which focuses on the Future of Fandom.

TWC’s current calls for papers include the following issues (more info at Announcements):

  • General Issue with emphasis on The Future of Fandom, September 2018 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Romance/Fans: Sexual Fantasy, Love, and Genre in Fandom, March 2019 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Fans of Color, Fandoms of Color June 2019 (CLOSED, email us for Symposium)
  • Fan Fiction and Ancient Scribal Cultures, December 2019 (submissions due June 1, 2018)
  • Fan Studies Methodologies, March 2020 (submissions due January 1, 2019)
  • Fandom and Politics, June 2020 (submissions due January 1, 2019)

We accept on a rolling basis submissions for our general issues, which always appear on September 15.