Banner by Alice of a book/eReader with an OTW bookmark and a USB plug going into the spine

Transformative Works and Cultures Releases No. 29

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 29, titled Fans of Color, Fandoms of Color.

The essays in this issue describe, interpret, and contextualize transformative works and practices by fans of color, about characters of color, or both. Fandoms include Harry Potter, Game of Thrones (via #DemThrones), The Walking Dead, Black Panther, and How to Get Away with Murder.

Other essays discuss K-pop, slash, parody videos, Filipino fans, and martial arts. Read More

Banner by Alice of a book/eReader with an OTW bookmark and a USB plug going into the spine

Transformative Works and Cultures releases No. 28

Transformative Works and Cultures has released issue number 28, our 10th anniversary issue! The essays in this issue focus on the Future of Fandom. Each issue includes articles representing theory, fannish meta, and book reviews, such as the following:

Read More

Ubi Invenimus in Domos Nostras banner below tumbler logo and numerous fandom logos

Transformative Works and Cultures Releases Issue No. 27

Transformative Works and Cultures has released No. 27, Tumblr and Fandom, guest edited by Lori Morimoto and Louisa Ellen Stein.

The essays in this guest-edited issue focus on Tumblr and include topics such as GIF sets, Supernatural fandom, fandom tags, Ms. Marvel, and Hiddleswift. Each issue includes articles representing theory, fannish meta, and book reviews, such as the following:

Read More